Frankly my dear, I don’t give a Ram

Well folks, it’s that time of the year again. Time to shiny those ruby slippers and head down to the best music festival in the country, and one of my most anticipated weekends of the year.

Now, I know some of you might be strangers to the wonders of Ramfest, so hopefully I can give you at least a smidgen of a taste of things to come.

I was also planning on providing all you Ramfest virgins with a bit of a guide on the essentials for surviving Ramfest, but Mr. Frost already took care of that amiably last year. As for the festival itself, yours truly wrote a love letter to hedonism that chronicles our adventures of last year.

So, what is left? Ah, c’mon…you should know that already … gees.

There has been some controversy leading up to Ramfest V, with quite a few people bitching and moaning about the line-up. Last year Pendulum headlined the festival, and thousands of screaming fans danced their little sunburnt asses off to one of my favourite groups in the world. This year, two international acts were announced:

Alkaline Trio & Funeral for a Friend.

Now, I have to admit I don’t really know Alkaline Trio, but based on opinions from my punk-orientated friends they are bound to put up a hell of a show. Funeral for a Friend, on the other hand, I am a big fan of. I used to listen to some of their tracks religiously a few years back, and having the opportunity to see them live seems slightly poetic, since their style helped shape my taste in music considerably.

Besides the international acts, there are tons of local acts that I am ecstatic to see, like: Die Fokken Antwoord, Desmond & the Tutu’s, Isochronous, Not My Dog (Ah, reminds me of the Barney Simon days) …and that’s just to name a few. I have to admit to being slightly disappointed that Lark won’t be performing,they have always been one of my highlights, but that just gives me the opportunity to give other artists a chance at stealing my adoration.

So, to the haters out there, I have this to say: Really?

If you don’t think you are going to go because you aren’t 100% happy with the line-up, that’s your decision. Me? Well, coming Ramfest weekend I will be right in front of the stage, shaking my fist in the air and celebrating what the country’s best alternative festival is all about: The music. Hos ja!

Leave a comment

Filed under The Chronicles

Leave a Reply

